Review: Rome Artifact 156

artifact156

The Artifact is one of the OG boards in the Rome line and one that has received much talk and praise since its release.  The 2009 Artifact was named as a top choice in both the TWS Good Wood test and Snowboarder Best Of  testing.  The Artifact is marketed and known as “THE Jib Kid” stick of choice for street rail assaults and box buttering fun. 

With all that in mind, I have to say that before riding it, I had the Artifact written off as a novelty board and not something I would consider riding everyday.  The fact is that although I do enjoy getting my box and rail on in the park, I have never stepped to a street rail in my life and I’m far from a Jib Kid.  The Artifact is full of surprises though. 

This is not your older brother’s jib board… this stick has some serious tech behind it.   The Pop Core Matrix  in the Artifact creates a flex profile that is fun and forgiving yet still stiff enough to hold an edge and boost you on the jumps.  I had no problem putting the Artifact on edge and keeping up with the boys, even on the worst of east coast icy hardpack.  I was also surprised at the amazing amount of pop and energy return this board offered on ollies and jumps.  The soft tip and tail are ideal for butters, presses, blocks and stalls.  This is coupled with Rome’s bronze edges and 3 degree park bevel for smooth catch-free rail-sliding domination.  The end result is a board that’s incredibly fun to ride and that does well in a surprising number of situations.  Despite my initial doubts, I now find myself reaching for the Artifact as my go to board of choice on most riding days… I guess that about says it all. 

And, Yes it has boobies on it.  But don’t tell the Vermont soccer moms, we don’t want any more protests.

artifacttop

Lengths: 147, 150, 153, 156, 159

Shape: True Twin

Waist Width: 24.6cm t0 25.4cm depending on size

Nose & Tail Width: 28.7 cm t0 29.8cm depending on size

Core: Pop Core Matrix Wood with StraightBiax Laminate

Base: Impact Extruded Base

MSRP: $370.00 USD

More at RomeSnowboards.com

~ by hrocker on January 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
