Ellery Hollingsworth Interview

ellery

P: Nike 6.0 The crystal ball says the future is looking good

Liv2Ride recently caught up with Burton and Nike 6.0 rider Ellery Hollingsworth.  Ellery has been making quite a name for herself on the competition circuit over the past few seasons.  With a resume that includes multiple podium finishes at events such as the Sessions at Vail, The U.S. Snowboarding Grand Prix, the New Zealand Open and the Winter Dew Tour, this Darien, CT native is definitely someone to watch.  At the tender age of 17  this girl has done more on a snowboard than most of us will do in a lifetime and there’s no signs that she’s peaked yet.  In between flights to and from competitions Ellery was nice enough to sit down and answer a few of our questions.

L2R: Thanks for taking the time to sit down with us.  This past weekend was the final stop of the inaugural Winter Dew Tour at Northstar-At-Tahoe.  What are your thoughts on the first year of the tour?

EH: I love it! I think the winter Dew Tour was a great success, and it will only get better as each season comes. The venues were awesome and the tv coverage was great as well.

L2R: By the way, congratulations on your 3rd place finish at the Mount Snow stop.  How did it feel to compete and podium in front of all your friends and family back east in Vermont?

EH: It was awesome, I really wanted to kind of redeem myself from the first breckenridge stop because I didn’t even make finals. I always love having my family there, so it was a bonus to be in vermont and have my family there to support.

L2R: That had to feel awesome!  The east coast has been representing strong on podiums all over this season.  Do you think there is anything about growing up and riding in the east that gives you an advantage over other the riders?

EH: I used to think there was an advantage to learning to ride with all of the ice, but after spending the last few winters out west, I think there’s an advantage to riding out west.

L2R: I was hoping you wouldn’t say that… I’m jealous.  So tell me this then, what do miss most about being back east while you’re travelling during the season?

EH: So many things, this will be easy to list because I haven’t been home in a couple months and I miss it so much! I miss my family first of all, my connecticut and vermont friends, my mom’s cooking, my pets, and definitely my bed!

L2R: I can relate to that.  Nothing like getting home to your own bed after a long road trip.  Speaking of travel, you’re only 17 years old and still in high school, how does that work with your busy contest schedule and balancing classes?

EH: SMS (Stratton Mountain School) has been really helpful with coming up with a situation that works for me. Most of the kids who go there travel half the amount as I do. The past two seasons I moved to Breckenridge for the winter to live with Steve Fisher. His girlfriend tutors me, so I lived with them.

L2R: That’s pretty cool and pretty nice of Steve and his girlfriend.  With all the travel and relocating do you ever feel like you’re missing out on anything, you know the typical 17 year old kid stuff?  For example will you be attending your senior prom this year?

EH: I do miss out on some stuff like, like going to regular high school, but i’m lucky enough that I get to experience so much different stuff while traveling. I go to a somewhat normal highschool in the spring and fall at sms, I play soccer there, and my friends and I have the best time. When I go home to Connecticut I get to go to high school football games and see all my friends there, so I think I get the best of both worlds. I’ll definitely go to prom this year, last year I brought one of my snowboard friends from CO.

P: Nike 6.0 Ellery airing it out

P: Nike 6.0 Ellery airing it out

L2R: Back to snowboarding… A little known fact, you were the first girl to land a 900 on a quarterpipe.  Are there any tricks that you’ve been working on in your run that you’d really like to stick before the season ends?

 

 

EH: We have an awesome spring camp planned with the US Team in Aspen for two weeks in april. I’m hoping to have some more tricks under my belt for the summer and next season!

L2R: We’ll be sure to keep an eye out.  So what are some of your other goals for your snowboarding, what would you ultimately like to accomplish with your riding?

 

 

EH: Take it as far as I can but most of all keeping it fun. This season i’ve realized how snowboarding becomes a job. It’s non stop taveling, contest after contest, it definitely wears on you, so I need to master the whole travling thing a bit more. I just want to keep it as fun as possible, and if it becomes like a chore to do, then I will stop. That won’t happen though!

L2R: I read in another interview you gave that if you could ride with anyone past or present it would be Craig Kelly.  Does that mean we’ll see you leaving the pipe for the big mountains some day searching for the perfect line and the endless carve?

EH: Only time will tell. Craig did it all, and he started big mountain riding because he wanted to “keep it fun.” I respect that a lot.

L2R: I’ve also read that you want to be a doctor when you grow up?  Most kids your age would think you have the best job in the world, why would you want to give that up and do something else?

EH: I actually don’t want to be a dr. anymore. I’ve come to my senses, and I’m fine right where I am at the moment!

L2R: Medicine’s loss is snowboarding’s gain.  Thanks again for your time.  Is there anyone out there that you would thank before you go?

EH: My mom and pops, Jeb, and Kyle, Susan Izzo, Brian Spear, SMS, Burton, Oakley, Nike, Gatorade, US Snowboard Team, and everyone else!!

__________________________

You can catch Ellery doing what she does best in front of the hometown crowds this weekend at the 27th Annual Burton US Open Snowboarding Championships at Stratton Mountain, VT – OpenSnowboarding.com

~ by hrocker on March 16, 2009.

One Response to “Ellery Hollingsworth Interview”

  1. […] Check out our interview with Ellery Hollingsworth here […]

Leave a Reply

 
