Hey Shaun White… You’re not Robert Plant

 Shaunwhite

There is no arguing that Shaun White to most of america is the face of snowboarding.  And I can’t take anything away from the skills that kid has on shred stick…. But… I have to say I think I’m getting a Shaun’d out.

It seems everywhere I turn these days I’m being bombarded with his red-haired face… Amex commercials, HP commercials, Men’s Journal double cover, Target clothing line, Oakley ads…  At first I thought all this exposure could do nothing but benefit the sport and I was more than happy for Shaun.  Something changed though with this weekend’s X games in Aspen, CO.  Shaun was everywhere and I have to say, I didn’t like what I had to see. 

What’s with the “front-man” posturing, the tantrums and pouting when things and scores didn’t go his way, the bonus runs???  Is Shaun starting to buy into his own press?  Shaun… here’s a news flash… You’re not Robert Plant.  At the end of the day you get paid to ride a snowboard.  Let’s keep things in perspective, snowboarding is all about fun.  Take it down a notch and try to stay a little humble, it will do you well.

~ by hrocker on January 28, 2008.

One Response to “Hey Shaun White… You’re not Robert Plant”

  1. Mother: What’s your favorite food?
    Child: Pizza!
    Mother: If you ate pizza every day you’d get tired of it pretty quick.

    Shaun White is the new daily pizza. The images are form his 21st birthday in Vegas. Oy vey

Leave a comment